The East Fife Members Centre
National Trust for Scotland
Click here to view future visits

21 August 2019Outing to the Japanese Garden, near Dollar and to Kinneil House & Museum
03 June 2019Residential Outing to the Gardens of North Wales
20 May 2019Outing to Branklyn Garden, Perth and to Scone Palace
11 May 2019Wildflower Walk from Balmerino Abbey
08 April 2019Monday morning coffee mornings at Kellie Castle start again!
10 September 2018Residential outing to Aberdeenshire Castles and Gardens - cancelled
26 July 2018Arbroath Outing to Hospitalfield House, the Chapel at the Western Cemetery, and the Signal Tower Museum
27 June 2018Falkland Palace Gardens: a brief guided tour through history and the seasons with Interim Head Gardener Susan Thores
22 May 2018Outing to St Vincent St Church and Holmwood House, Glasgow
27 July 2017Outing to Barry Mill, House of Dun and the Pictish stones at Aberlemno
13 June 2017St Mary’s Cathedral and Song School, Edinburgh and the Royal Burgh of Culross
20 May 2017Outing to The Isle of Man
05 July 2016Outing to The House of the Binns and the Bo'ness-Kinneil Railway
06 June 2016Residential trip to Liverpool
01 June 2016Kingarrock hickory golf course, Hill of Tarvit
26 May 2016The Royal Botanic Garden, Edinburgh and Newhailes

Click on a row and scroll to display more details about the visit

Outing to the Japanese Garden, near Dollar
and to Kinneil House & Museum

Wednesday 21 August 2019

This outing offers a very pleasing contrast between a beautiful tranquil garden created in the 20th century and a 17th century house which is not generally open to the public. Ella Christie was an intrepid traveller who was inspired by her 1907-8 visit to Japan to develop a Japanese garden
at the family home, Cowden Castle (demolished 1952).

Major vandalism in 1963, including burning the teahouses and bridges, virtually  estroyed the garden. Restoration began in 2014 with stunning results.

After an introductory talk and refreshments, you will be free to explore the gardens and woodland walk. 
Kinneil House, near the Antonine Wall and Bo’ness, was built in 1677 on the site of earlier buildings and was the seat of the Hamiltons. The house was scheduled for demolition in 1936, but the discovery of 16th century mural paintings saved the building which is now in the care of Historic Scotland.

The House will open just for our group and we will have a volunteer-led tour before self-guided visit to the museum in the old stables.

The registration form is on this website under Documents.